Minutes of 2020 Annual General Meeting

Voluntary Sector Studies Network
Annual General Meeting
Friday 20th November 2020


Angela Ellis Paine, Jane Cullingworth, Chris Dayson, Chris Damm, Jon Dean, Jurgen Grotz, Vita Terry, Ann Hindley, Amy Sanders, Geoff Nichols, Diarmuid McDonnell, Karin Biermann, James Rees and Felim O’hAdhmaill


Carolyn Cordery, Christala Sophacleous, Rob Macmillan, Ali Body.

Angela welcomed everyone to the 17th VSSN AGM; which will be her last as Co-Chair.

The minutes of the AGM 2019 were approved, proposed by Jane Cullingworth and seconded by Chris Dayson and Jon Dean.


A PowerPoint presentation summarised the event of a year of two halves, with the second half being one of turmoil and challenge, but VSSN has changed and adapted. During this time, VSSN unfortunately lost one of its founding members, Duncan Scott, to a severe stroke. The conference prize for new researchers has been renamed the Duncan Scott Memorial Prize for early researchers as a way of recognising Duncan’s significant contribution to VSSN.

Angela talked through the four key objectives that were set out earlier in 2020, a summary of which is set out in the annual report. Updates on the development opportunity grants scheme were given by Vita Terry; on Voluntary Sector Review by Jon Dean in its 11th year of publication; Angela on the day seminar in November 2019 and the cancellation of the May seminar; Chris Dayson on the successful annual conference, which was our first time as lead partner, with an opportunity to return next year to Aston University; Angela on the postponed writer’s retreat and on developments towards improved diversity and inclusion; and Jane on supporting early career researchers.


Carolyn presented the accounts by video, encouraging questions by email. A highlight of the year was the surplus produced by the annual conference. Reserves currently represent one year’s running costs. There were no questions.


There was no election this year as only two self nominations were received for three places, from Geoff Nichols and Diarmuid McDonnell. Carol Jacklin Jarvis and Carolyn Cordery are to be co-opted by the Steering Group for one year. Thanks were given to Angela Ellis Paine and Ali Body, whose terms are ending, for their outstanding work and significant commitment.


Again, there was no need for election as only one self-nomination had been received for two places, from Angela Ellis Paine. Thanks to the retiring members, Mike Hemmings and Daiga Kamerade (who has become an editor).


The annual conference in 2021 is planned for September at Aston University, with thanks to Carolyn and her team at Aston.

The meeting closed at 12:50 and Angela thanked everyone for attending.